High School Boys Basketball

High School: Address 921 3rd Ave SW Phone:712.546.4153 Fax:712.548.4450


Quick Stats|Rosters

2016-17 Boys Basketball

Head Varsity Dave Irwin
Asst. Varsity Benji Kasel
9th Gabe Davis Asst. Varsity
Pictures by Lasting Image
Prime Bank (Hotsheets) SIOUX CITY — Senior Trent Hilbrands sent the 3A District finals into overtime Thursday night with a dramatic three-point shot with 2.6 seconds to play in regulation but Bishop Heelan regrouped and the No. 6 Crusaders won a 76-72 overtime decision over No. 9 Le Mars to advance to the 3A Sub-State Monday at the Tyson Events Center. Elijah Hazekamp’s two free throws with 27 seconds to play in overtime extended Heelan’s lead to 75-72. A three-point attempt by Le Mars rattled halfway inside the cylinder before exiting and Heelan grabbed the rebound. Kyrese Peck drew a quick foul with 9.1 seconds to play. He missed the first foul shot before hammering home the clincher. This may go down as one of the greatest Heelan/Le Mars game of all-time!
The Le Mars boys got off to an even faster start than the girls did, holding Emmetsburg without a field goal for the first ten minutes of the game while building a 29-2 lead. The Dogs had a 45-13 halftime advantage and the clock moved into continuous mode a minute into the second half as Le Mars won by 49 in their final basketball match-up against the E-Hawks.


End of Season stats and awards

Kyle Marek - Academic All Conference

Trent Hilbrands - Academic All Conference

Seth Oetken - Academic All Conference

James Brownmiller - Honorable Mention Academic All Conference


Trent Hilbrands - 2nd Team All State

Trent Hilbrands - All Substate

Will Pottebaum - All Substate

Trent Hilbrands - 1st Team All Conference

Will Pottebaum - 1st Team All Conference

Jake Thompson - 2nd Team All Conference

Trent Hilbrands - Denny Stelpflug Award


Gabe Eckstaine     58%


Trent Hilbrands    77.9%

3 Pt. %

Will Pottebaum     49%


Trenton Hilbrands     3.2 per game


Jake Thompson    5.3 per game


JT  Engebretson     29

Denny Stelpflug Award

Trent Hilbrands


Trent Hilbrands


Zach Pratt


Jake Thompson


Seth Oetken


James Brownmiller


Kyle Marek



Our School
Our Foundation
Le Mars Community School District is a 3A school located in NW Iowa
Congratulations Le Mars on being named an All Star Community.
"Our greatest glory is not in never failing but in rising everytime we fall". Ralph Waldo Emerson
Welcome to Bulldog Country